Football | December 7, 2017

District 14-4A All-District Team Announced

All-District Running Back Tristan Chacon running behind an All-District Offensive Line.  (photo by Karen Holmes)


Canyon Lake took in a Bus Load of All-District 14-4A awards after going further in the football playoff format ever in the Hawks 10th year of existence.

     We are Proud of the Hawks!

CL’s lineman were hard to miss on the list this season as they made up the majority of picks as the slot-t helped in amassing this haul of hardware.

Newcomer of the Year was Bradley Hight as his twin brother , Brayden Hight made the 1st Team along with Joseph Crisp, Jacob Foster, and Josh Almond.

The All-District Tight End capped off the line as J. T. Greene was voted for that position.

Running Back Tanner Faris was voted as Offensive MVP this year as Tristan Chacon was voted All-District Back to join Faris.

All told, CL had 8 Hawks that were voted on the offensive side of the line (pardon the pun) for this well deserving group of players.

Defensively, Canyon Lake, had CJ Parrish made All-District Defensive Lineman and he was joined by Defensive End, Ross Snowden and Linebacker Parker Reno, Defensive Back Trenton Lorett.

Lorett was mentioned twice as this young man made First-Team Special Teams.

Canyon Lake added 2nd Team honors with QB Ben Fulton, running back Micah St. John, Offensive Lineman Devon Cordell, Defensive Lineman Sam Sheppard, Defensive end Richard Rosas, Linebacker Greyson Lee, and two Defensive Backs with Lee Stafford and Caimen McDonough.

CL finished with an undefeated District slate while getting to a 10 win season as a lot of firsts were realized to match the First Teamer’s mentioned above.


                       District 14-4A All-District First Team

Newcomer of the Year:  Paul Amick         Boerne
                       Bradley Hight      Canyon Lake

District MVP:          Andre Jones        Taylor

Offensive MVP:         Tanner Faris*      Canyon Lake

Defensive MVP:         Jesse Bellamy      Taylor
                       Kade Hunter        Boerne

(unanimous Selection *)

Quarterback:           Ryan Gardner       Taylor

Running Back:          Tristan Chacon*    Canyon Lake
                       William Sebera*    Fredericksburg
                       Delane Hornsby*    Taylor

Tightend:              J.T. Greene*       Canyon Lake

Wide Receiver:         Sean Majors*       Fredericksburg
                       Travis Gardner*    Taylor
                       Douglas Hodo*      Boerne
                       Connor Fisher*     Boerne

Offensive Line:        Ramon Martinez     Taylor
                       Caelan Keenan*     Boerne
                       Joseph Crisp*      Canyon Lake
                       Jacob Foster*      Canyon Lake
                       Brayden Hight      Canyon Lake
                       Josh Almond        Canyon Lake

Kicker:                Ryan Hanson        Taylor
                       Daylon Negben      Fredericksburg

Punter:                Daylon Negben*     Fredericksburg

Defensive Lineman:     CJ Parrish         Canyon Lake
                       Jake Chapman*      Boerne
                       Cullen Yates*      Fredericksburg
                       Elijah Tellez*     Taylor
                       Roberto Perez      Eastside Memorial

Defensive End:         Andrew Weaver*     Boerne
                       Ross Snowden       Canyon Lake

Linebackers:           Bryce Erwin*       Fredericksburg
                       A.J. Zarate        Taylor
                       Byron Sweet        Taylor
                       Cody Atteberry     Boerne
                       Parker Reno        Canyon Lake

Defensive Backs:       Paul Key*          Taylor
                       Cole Lane*         Boerne
                       Brock Wells*       Taylor
                       Trenton Lorett     Canyon Lake

Special Teams:         Douglas Hodo       Boerne
                       Trenton Lorett     Canyon Lake

Utility Player:        Price Hobbs        Fredericksburg

                     Honorable Mention had the following Hawks:

Running Back:        Jacob Ruff           Defensive Backs:     Lester Boehm
                     Joseph Ruiz

Linebackers:         Michael Harwell      Special Teams:       Braden Duke