Girls Basketball | February 25, 2018

CL Lady Basketball Rent U-Haul to Load Awards

                 Char Hutson was one of eight Hawks to garner Awards for District 28-4A
                 (photo by Karen Holmes)


The District 28-4A Champions Canyon Lake Lady Hawks were awarded with several accolades after finishing their season with a sparkling, 31-7 record after losing in the 3rd round of the UIL Playoffs last Tuesday.

          CL had 5 of these players making the Academic All-District Team.

          Reagan Heun          Char Hutson         Marley Carrizales
          Skylar Hurst         Lainee Moses

Reagan Heun was the District MVP for this year as she matched Ashley Pfaff who was the last Hawk player to garner that lofty achievement.

Heun had a 17 point average for District play and was a concern for several coaches on how to stop this player.

Reagan Heun is MVP for District 28-4A (photo by Karen Holmes)

This Most Valuable Player was just that, during her Senior year, she had her best year with steals, blocks and assists. Yes, she scored more points in Lady Hawk History, but it was those other attributes that put her head and shoulders above her competition.

CL Hawks had Alexa Ramos and Chelsea Tschoepe make 1st Team for District 28-4A so Heun would not feel alone as these two players were integral in helping the Lady Basketball team finished with a year that put the Hawks on several lists.

Ramos was instrumental this season as she continued to help with steals and assists along with her 9 point average scoring. Tschoepe led Canyon Lake in steals and averaged 6 points while helping with guard duties when called upon.

Second Team honors went to Caroline Kullberg who made her presence in the paint blocking several opponents shots.

Block shots and steals were two parts of this year’s team that kept all but two opponents with points in the 40s or lower.

All nine players on the roster were mentioned as the rest of this Hawk team made Honorable Mention for their District and Season play.

Jesse Melendez, Lainee Moses, Char Hutson, Skylar Hurst, and Marley Carrizales got into that category as all 9 players had an award.

Congrats on a great season!!


                            Academic All-District
                     Senior        Reagan Heun
                     Senior        Skylar Hurst
                     Senior        Char Hutson
                     Soph.         Lainee Moses
                     Soph.         Marley Carrizales

                            All-District Awards
                     Most Valuable Player Reagan Heun

                                First Team
                     Senior        Alexa Ramos
                     Soph.         Chelsea Tschoepe

                                Second Team
                     Soph.         Caroline Kullberg

                               Honorable Mention
                     Soph.         Lainee Moses
                     Senior        Char Hutson
                     Senior        Skylar Hurst
                     Soph.         Jessie Melendez
                     Soph.         Marley Carrizales